top of page
Search

Be My Hero


I love pretending to be Spider-Man. He saves people, wall climbs and slings webs.

I even thought I could sling a web to stop something from moving.


I may be just five and you may think I spend too much time pretending to be Spider-Man but mom I really am Peter Parker. I can save the day like he does, I can put back what’s broken, just let me try.


Son, I’ve been trying to explain the best I can that imagination is good. However, that we need to break apart what is real and what isn’t. That you being Spider-Man twenty four seven has affected so much. You can’t focus in class, you can’t focus at home, you just want to escape from this world that is causing so much pain.


The world in which you have two homes, your parents don’t get along and you stay confused on who you are with, when and why. This world has been unforgiving to you to where your voice isn’t heard. That you can’t think for yourself. Only responses we get majority of the time is, “I don’t know.” Week after week, it’s a different car, a different bed, a different room, a different town, different rules, more fighting over you and it’s all because two people couldn’t work.


People ask, “Who is your favorite super hero?” There is nothing wrong with asking or wanting a hero. It’s tragic that you are in a position to feel like you have to be a hero. That you must become Spider-Man because his powers allows him freedom that you don’t have. No one truly gets on your level little man to try and understand what you are feeling and what your world may be like.


I want to be your hero. I try everyday. Right now it’s emptiness and aching for peace for you. I walk through the house and I see action figures of Flash, Batman, Captain America, Spider-Man and so on. That is your world. You play pretend with your toys to leave on a grand adventure of hero’s who are good. They chase off the bad guys and leave no monsters to scare.


All the while I’m sure you look to everyone in your life and you just ask, “Be my hero.” Help you through the trails of life. Help you through school, through the constant shuffle and crazy visiting schedule of who gets you. Help you feel safe, loved, wanted, brave and powerful using your own powers that are within you. Help you plant yourself like a tree and grow into a captivating vision of life that is remarkable in all that you do.




Just Be My Hero!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page